Main menu

Pages

Download The COVIDSafe Android App And iOS

COVIDSafe

About the app COVIDSafe
The COVIDSafe app is part of our work to stop the spread of COVID-19. Having confidence that we can find and contain outbreaks quickly will mean that governments can ease restrictions and keep Australians safe.

The new COVIDSafe application is completely voluntary. Downloading the app is something you can do to protect yourself, your family and friends, and save the lives of other Australians. The more Australians connect to the COVIDSafe application, the faster we can find the virus.

Download the COVIDSafe app now, Google Play and the App Store.

What is COVIDSafe for?

The COVIDSafe app helps you find close contacts of COVID-19 cases. The app helps state and territorial health officials quickly contact people who may have been exposed to COVID-19.

The COVIDSafe app speeds up the current manual process of finding people who have been in close contact with someone with COVID-19. This means that we will contact you more quickly if you are at risk. This reduces the chances of transmitting the virus to your family, friends, and others in the community.

State and territorial health officials can only access app information if someone tests positive and agrees to have the information uploaded to their phone. Health officials can only use the information in the app to help alert those who need to be quarantined or tested.

The COVIDSafe app is the only contact tracking app approved by the Australian government.

How COVIDSafe works

When you download the app, you provide your name, mobile phone number, and zip code and select your age range (see Privacy). You will receive a confirmation text message to complete the installation. Then the system creates a unique encrypted referral code for you.

COVIDSafe recognizes other devices with the COVIDSafe app installed and Bluetooth® enabled. When the application recognizes another user, it notes the date, time, distance and duration of the contact and the reference code of the other user. The COVIDSafe app does not collect your location.

To be effective, you must have the COVIDSafe app running as you go about your daily activities and come into contact with people. Users will receive daily notifications to ensure that the COVIDSafe app is running.

The information is encrypted and that encrypted identifier is stored securely on your phone. You can't even access it. Contact information stored on people's mobile phones is deleted in a continuous 21-day cycle. This period takes into account the incubation period for COVID-19 and the time it takes to test. For more information, see Privacy.

Download the COVIDSafe app now, Google Play and the App Store.

When an application user tests positive for COVID-19

When someone is diagnosed with COVID-19, state and territorial health officials will ask them or their parents / guardians with whom they have been in contact. If they have the COVIDSafe application and grant their permission, the application's encrypted contact information will be uploaded to a highly secure information storage system. State and territorial health officials then:

use the contacts captured by the application to support your usual contact tracking
Call people so that they or their parents / guardians know they may have been exposed
Offer advice on next steps, including:
what to pay attention to
when, how and where to get tested
what to do to protect friends and family from exposure
Health officials will not name the infected person.Download the COVIDSafe app now, Google Play and the App Store.

After the pandemic

At the end of the Australian COVID-19 pandemic, users will be asked to remove the COVIDSafe app from their phone. This will remove all information from the app on a person's phone. The information contained in the information storage system will also be destroyed at the end of the pandemic.

Remove the COVIDSafe app

You can remove the COVIDSafe app from your phone at any time. This will remove all information from the COVIDSafe application from your phone. The information in the secure information storage system will not be deleted immediately. It will be destroyed at the end of the pandemic. If you want your information to be removed from the storage system sooner, you can complete our data removal request form.

Download the COVIDSafe app now, Google Play and the App Store.
reactions

Comments